August 27- A Saint, a Monk, and an out of shape blogger go walking down a moonlit path…Stop me if you’ve heard this one…

monksebastian

After last week’s anger-laden post you would have expected me (ok I would have expected me- after all, I don’t know what your expectations are) to hit the ground running Thursday morning in the gym and get back into the swing of things right and healthy and true. That would make for a highly motivational post. Guess what? This is not going to be that post.

Last Thursday I had weight training courtesy of The Universe. “Doing OK with the weight you have?” says The Universe. “Nope, you’re not lifting enough.” THUD “Have some more.”

So, instead of the gym, I opted for the same self-defeating behaviors that got me on last Wednesday’s rant in the first place. Not my finest moments. But you don’t read my blog for my own self-pity. So instead, I’ll tell you about my walk tonight.

You noticed I used the word “walk” because that is exactly what it was. It ended up being 4.64 miles of nothing but a walk in the moonlight at none too great a speed, but it was more than I was capable of doing the day before so we will put it in the “dubious improvement” category. I walked tonight with the intention of clearing my mind, but apparently my mind didn’t get the memo, because it kept right on thinking.

I had two recently acquired talismans in my pocket, and in addition to the cool night air, bright stars, and typically marshy sounds and smells I thought about both of them hanging out together. They were an unusual, yet quite harmonious duo.

As a card-carrying agnostic born to Catholic parents I’ve managed to maintain a dubious skepticism about many major Christian tenants while clinging desperately to the little that has stuck in both my head and my heart. This brings me to Saints. I love the Saints. What an awesome concept to have the patron-saint-of-what-ever-cause-you-hold-dear on hand to whisper an intercession on your behalf to the Great Almighty. Think of Saints as lobbyists without the accompanying scourge of politics. Now such a lofty post obviously doesn’t come without a price, and the price for many saints is martyrdom. (Its either that or miracles or both.) But here’s the thing about Saints and what makes them special- they’re cool with the whole martyrdom thing. They’re willing to face all manner of ghastly ends and do it cheerfully because they have the faith and knowledge that what they are standing up for is true and just. As a child I didn’t get that, and thought Saints were just smug about their assured place in heaven, but now I have a different understanding.

Hank Schlau, who makes the most wonderful saint statues and pewter medals sums up a wonderful rationale for accepting saints into our lives. He says, “…their lives illuminate some positive alternatives to accepted patterns of thought and action. That is, their stories can help illustrate the best instincts in us- lightheartedness in the face of peril, helping the downtrodden, (and) generosity offered without anticipation of acknowledgement-that can get buried in the dominant messages of all cultures.”

The other nifty thing about Saints is there are a whole bunch of them, and certainly a patron for just about any cause, malady, or profession. Which brings us to my Saint-du-jour, St. Sebastian, Patron Saint of Athletes. Sebastian was a Christian and a pacifist but joined the Roman army in 283. He was promoted to the Praetorian Guard- a very elite position while at the same time miraculously curing, converting, and baptizing other soldiers and civilians. This was a big no-no. He was eventually betrayed and sentenced to death by firing squad, which at the time involved bows and arrows. Sebastian is often depicted bound to a stake and pierced with arrows. However, he didn’t die. Nope, between his own stubbornness, his wife nursing him back to health, and some divine intervention he lived. Imagine the Emperor’s surprise when this guy who he thought was dead comes walking back up to give him a hard time about his pagan worshiping policies. In what I’ve read it even said that the Emperor briefly considered converting himself, but instead decided on again sentencing Sebastian to death and making sure his minions carried out his orders fully the second time.

So who was hanging out in my pocket with good ol’ Sebastian? An unexpected and very meaningful gift from Hank, a medal representing one of the “Marathon Monks” of Mt. Hiei. The greatest achievement for these Buddhist monks from the Tendai tradition is to complete a 1000 day spiritual pilgrimage over seven years for the sole (soul?) purpose of achieving spiritual enlightenment. Only 46 men have successfully completed this task since 1885. In each year of the challenge these men run 30-40km every day for 100 consecutive days. That’s 18 to 24 miles every day. No rest days, no fancy running togs- in fact the monks run in straw sandals, an all-white outfit, and a straw hat toting books with directions, candles, and food for offerings at temples along the way. Speaking of eating, these monks subsist on almost an entirely plant-based diet. You want protein? Got tofu. Oh, and don’t for a minute think they’re slacking when they’re not running. Nope these guys study calligraphy and meditation and help with the general running of the temple when they’re not actively running. By the time they’re approaching the seventh year of their challenge they run 84 km (52 miles) for a hundred days, then taper back to the 30-40km a day for another hundred days. The deity Fudo-Myo-o is very important to these monks, and through doing the research for this blog I’ve got to say he resonates with me a bit too.  

Fudo- Myo-o is one scary looking but extremely popular deity. His name literally translates to, “The Immovable Wisdom King.” On the website http://www.japanese-buddhism.com it is said, “He converts anger into compassion and cuts the ties of negative feelings and demons to liberate us from suffering through self-control… He also battles evil with his immovable faith and his compassion.” Hmm. After my previous weeks’ anger the thought of turning some of that into compassion has some appeal… But just some of it…

So now who do I have going running with me? I’ve got Alecto the Greek fury, I’ve got St. Sebastian, I’ve got a monk who smiles knowingly and will ignore the memo about not wearing white after Labor Day, and I’ve got his friend Fudo- Myo-o. It’s quite a cast of characters. Fortunately, they seem to get along well enough. They push me to do what I can, to make good decisions, to increase both in time and intensity, but they stay with me when I’m out of breath, when I’m cramping, when I’m craving a Dr. Pepper, when I start feeling weak. Except for Fudo- Myo-o. He just turns up the music and invites me to run a little more.

Until next run…

 

In that I am citing information that is new to me I’m going to go all term-paper on you and cite my sources. However, since this is not for a grade or any further publication instead of APA, MLA, or any other recognized sourcing you’re getting AMR’s citing:

For awesome Saint Statues and Medals (with some Monks on the side) please visit

In The Company of Saints- https://www.etsy.com/shop/InTheCompanyOfSaints?ref=l2-shopheader-name

For additional info about St. S- Saints Preserve Us by Sean Kelly and Rosemary Rogers

For additional info about the Monks of Mt. Hiei:

http://www.howtobefit.com/tendai-marathon-monks.htm

http://www.japanese-buddhism.com/fudo-myo-o.html

Leave a comment